About the Lyons Electorate

Electoral Division of Lyons

The Division of Lyons takes its name from the only Tasmanian to be elected as Prime Minister, Joseph Lyons (1879-1939), who was Prime Minister between 1932 and 1939 and his wife, Dame Enid Lyons (1897-1981). Dame Enid was the first female member of the House of Representatives and was also the first female cabinet member, when she was elected in 1943 and appointed in 1949 respectively.

Prior to 1984, the Division of Lyons was known as the Division of Wilmot.

Lyons is a large rural division of 35,721.83 sq km.

The division includes:

  • Break O'Day municipal area,
  • Brighton municipal area,
  • Central Highlands municipal area,
  • Derwent Valley municipal area,
  • Glamorgan-Spring Bay municipal area,
  • Kentish municipal area,
  • Meander Valley municipal area,
  • Northern Midlands municipal area,
  • Sorell municipal area,
  • Southern Midlands municipal area,
  • Tasman municipal area,
  • Part of the City of Clarence.